Oct 16, 2010

Posted by in Random | 1 Comment

Review: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

 Review: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

From Goodreads:
Nora should have known her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described as anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away, and Nora can’t figure out if it’s for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father’s death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn’t answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch, or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

My Review:

I was expecting so much from the sequel to Hush, Hush but I wasn’t expecting Crescendo to surpass it! It took me on a wild emotional roller coaster ride and I found myself thinking about Crescendo long after I finished it. There is so much at stake and there is never a moment where the action slows down!

Nora is one of my favorite heroines of YA. She is a very smart and reliable girl. Even though I found myself yelling at her for her actions, I understand why she did what she did. Nora goes through so much in Crescendo and makes many shocking discoveries. I found myself crying with her over her heartbreaking moments, and feeling my stomach drop when she was in a bind. I felt so connected with Nora that while I was reading Crescendo, I was Nora. Nora is an unbelievably strong girl and I really want to hug her after all that she has experienced. The revelations she makes in Crescendo change everything she has ever believed and bring up even more questions that are left unanswered.

Patch is the same as ever in Crescendo. Still infuriatingly sexy and stubborn. One moment I think I understand him, the next i’m shocked at his actions! A lot goes on between him and Nora and the problems start right away. I really wanted to jump in between the pages and knock some sense into them both. Communication is key but they are too involved to see that. I really want to say more about Patch and Nora but I don’t want to give too much away!

Nothing was predictable in Crescendo. I was always scratching my head about who the bad guy was and what some of the characters were hiding. There were many times when I had to just close the book for a moment to reflect on the events that had just happened. It was all so hard to take in. The action was non-stop and my emotions were thrown out-of-whack! And the ending!! Talk about a cliff hanger. I am so happy that Becca Fitzpatrick signed on for a third book because I would just die if she left it off like that!

Crescendo is a must read for fans of Hush, Hush! If you haven’t yet experienced this series, I highly recommend that you try it. This is one of my all time favorite series and I am in love with Patch and Nora! I am so excited for the third book, Tempest, and I am expecting it to be just as amazing as Crescendo and Hush, Hush.

My Rating:

5 Stars

share save 171 16 Review: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
  1. YAY! I'm so glad you enjoyed this one, I loved Hush, Hush. Patch most certainly is infuriatingly sexy, that never fails to appeal to me. Not sure I'm excited for the cliffhanger ending, but I can't wait to read everything leading up to it. Great review!

Leave a Reply

facebook goodreads email